The Animal Shelter Advisory Board is charged with working with staff to set standards for the town's animal shelter and the care of animals, and to provide periodic reports to the Texas Department of Health.

The board consists of five people who shall serve for a period of two years. The terms of office commence on October 1 of each year and board appointments will occur in accordance with the town’s annual appointment process for all town boards, commissions and corporations. The advisory board must meet at least three times annually and must be comprised of at least one (1) licensed veterinarian, one (1) county or municipal official, one (1) person whose duties include the daily operation of an animal shelter, one (1) representative from an animal welfare organization, and one (1) resident of the Town.

Animal Shelter Advisory Board Members:

Susan Edstrom — Chairperson and Animal Welfare Representative
Dr. Rachel Speed, D.V.M. — Veterinarian
Tony Simmons, Sergeant — Municipal Official
Kristyn Dobson, ACO — Animal Shelter Operations
Chuck Hall — Resident
Pamela Swan — Resident
Philip Shoffner — Council Liaison

Police Chief Patrick Arata serves as the Board’s staff liaison, please contact the staff liaison with comments or questions.